Testing. Testing. 1, 2, 3…

Is this thing on?

The first post is always awkward, like making a cold call. Talking as fast as you can just to get it all out.

So here are the basics: I had a blog a while back and I loved writing; & I think people loved reading. It stopped because it didn’t have a clear purpose any longer. At the beginning, I just started without a plan, talking about all sorts of things happening in my life. Then I realized being honest and vulnerable allows you to connect with others, and it makes them want more. But I wasn’t sure what to say anymore. And other life-stuff happened. Other life-stuff was making me happy. So I stopped.

But there has always been something I can’t quiet down or pinpoint. I remember writing a post about a feeling inside of me that has to get let out through words and organized into something. In the post I recalled this excerpt from Eat, Pray, Love:

“Like most humanoids, I am burdened with what the Buddhists call the “monkey mind” –the thoughts that swing from limb to limb, stopping only to scratch themselves, spit and howl. From the distant past to the unknown future, my mind swings wildly through time, touching on dozens of ideas a minute, unharnessed and undisciplined.”

I went on to say:

“…but I kind of like my Monkey Mind. It is definitely unharnessed and undisciplined, but I get to contain all of the important parts here. That’s why this was created, to manage my Monkey Mind.”

I am feeling like my MM is out of control at this point. It needs a file cabinet. A landing pad. It needs a voice.

So here we go.

OH! “Invigorate Owen.” Why?

I have been on the hunt for a blog name since the beginning of January. Nothing was quite right. Until I ran across the word “invigorate” and it hit me. I realized this blog doesn’t have to be about one single thing; but it DOES need an overall theme. What keeps me going creatively are things that inspire me and then invigorate me to make something or do something. To make a nautical bachelorette sash for my BFF, or start a 30-day green smoothie challenge, or organize a craft party for my friends. I search for stuff to make me TAKE ACTION. And that’s what I want to do here. Invigorate myself. Invigorate others.

So I’m going to try and not do too much complaining…

And the Owen part? It’s my new last name.

Leave a Reply

